Weapons of Ass Destruction
2004-04-20 | 11:56 a.m.

So yesterday my web host and FTP got all fucked up and stopped working. So I emailed them and was having an ongoing email conversation with one of their SystemAdmin people at like, 2am...which wasn't a problem for them seeing that they're based in England. So First they fixed my web site so it's actually working again. I still don't know if it's something that was wrong on their end, or if it was something that I did seeing that I was putzing around with administrator crap right before Justin and I left on Friday. But my FTP still wasn't working, so after yet another round of email chats and a few hours rest I'm told that it's working again. The FTP program that I was using before still seems to be doing that same fucked up thing that it was before, but I downloaded a trial version of CuteFTP and it worked with that. So I guess the problem was all on my end. Who knows.

But, in the spirit of moving on, I now present my rather dull pictures taken this past weekend while gallivanting around in our nation's capital. Where we mostly were, there was nothing but young, attractive, gay men who were all in really good shape. Like...really really good shape. The kind of shape that you have to stop walking as they go by on their bike, shirtless, and totally gawk at them and think "Should I take a picture or just stare?" It was almost like the twilight zone, except not. So anyway...on to pictures. Here we have a lovely picture of my two Compadres del crime, Justin and Patrick, taken outside of Patrick's apartment on N st. He had a really nice apartment and let Justin and I sleep in his bed together. Did we all touch each other in naughty ways? How could we NOT! We are two hot and sexy menz, but what happens in DC...stays in DC. Awww yeah. For most of our stay, Patrick referred to Justin as 'Sweet Tits' and he called me 'Kitten' cause he knows how to make me purrrr.

While we were walking around we saw a whole shit load of Anti-bush graffiti all over the place, as well as a bunch of runners with RunAgainstBush.org t-shirts. Justin took better pictures of the graffiti than I did, but I liked this one because it is both Anti-Bush, and Pro-Radiohead.

It was really warm on saturday, which was nice because we had just gotten out of about two weeks of cold and rain up here in Jersey. So after a little bit of walking around and being warm, we got onto the Metro to head to even more exciting places.

The Metro freaked me out because the stations are cool and breezy...and clean. So here I am, used to the T in Boston and the trains in NYC, and I'm plopped down in DC with their snobby Metro and it's AC'ed station and trains with carpeting and padded seats that don't reek of urine. So weird. I still think I like the EL in Chicago better though. I don't know why.

We took the train to the national mall where I took pictures that probably every single person who has ever been in the DC area has taken before. It made me feel all 'connected to the people' and shit.

We then went to a few art museums, which was very fun because I like going to art museums, but it was also unfun because at this point, life threatening blisters the size of small furry animals, had taken hold of my feet and causing me to wobble around like a gimpy little bastard. It felt like I was stepping on pieces of glass for the rest of the trip. Stupid shoes.

We walked over to the Hirshhorn Museum (which is all Modern Art) and walked around. Their permanent collection is really very nice, but the exhibit they were having was kinda lame. I found the artist rather bland and disconnected with his audience. And honestly, if I wanted to see what stupid people come up with when they're paid to be stupid (or actually, paid to be themselves would be a better way of putting it) I'd stay at home and watch something on MTV. I mean, really. Where the fuck is MY national grant???

I thought that the outside of the gallery was really cool though. I don't know why the fountain wasn't on though. They must have been cleaning it or something.

I really like the sculptures outside the gallery too. I cut Patrick in half right here, woops.

After walking we went and sat on some cool (as in temperature) marble benches and watched people put their feet in this fountain. While sitting there we all decided to head to ChinaTown and get something to eat for lunch. We decided upon this place called "PotBelly" which is kinda like Quiznos, except a little bit different. Very good though and they had Mr.Pibb which pleased me greatly.

After food we went to the National Gallery and walked through it rather quickly because it was closing in about a half an hour after we got there. We spent most of our time in the east building where they were having an exhibit of the cubist paintings of Diego Rivera. I'm not a fan of Rivera for a number of reasons, but I didn't follow Justin & Patrick into the gallery because it was jam packed full of people who really seemed to like his paintings, and their comments and musings would probably have incited me to a loud and violent art tirade which would involve me rubbing my blistered feet on their faces.

Then we got back on the Metro and headed back home where I took a lovely shower and almost passed out on the couch. We did more stuff but I either didn't take pictures, or it's was just too hot and sexual to talk about, so I'll just let you imagine the rest for yourselves.

So, yes...a fun weekend was had by all. A big thank-you to Patrick for allowing Justin and myself to stay at his apartment. And another thank-you to Cindy at Dot5Hosting.com who helped me un-fuck up my web-space so I am now running at some semblance of normality.

However I did figure out yesterday that all the work that I did for that SWiSH pin-up calendar was lost when I got that virus last week. Of course I still have little jpg versions of the images, but I lost my TIFs with the color layers and everything. I am very annoyed with that but hey...dems da berries. I'll just have to start working on them again.

ugh.
(so not happy)

[last] - [next]

[newest][archives]
[profile][notes][email]
[g-book][dland]


-Last 5 entries-
[2004-10-24]
[2004-10-11]
[2004-09-29]
[2004-09-16]
[2004-09-12]


Reading:



Get yo' ass NOTIFIED!: