Such Great Height
2004-02-08 | 12:00 p.m.

I started writing and entry yesterday afternoon, but that little voice in the back of my head that commands me to kill, suggested that we take a break and go tackle some of the new lunch meats that in the fridge and maybe construct a scooby-doo type sandwhich bigger than my face. Suffice it to say I got totally distracted by lunch and never returned to my entry writing. Woops.

Speaking of food, I just ate a pop tart for breakfst and now I'm wondering how anyone was ever tricked into thinking that these things were an acceptable breakfast food. They're like candy. I don't understand it. My mom never let us eat fun shit like this when I was growning up. Cereal was very dull and full of fiber and we longed for the fun, brightly colored cereal that we saw on TV. And I finally got it when I was in college, and was totally let down. Yeah. You and your cereal with the bright plastic color candy shells...made my teeth hurt. Gimmie some mini-weats or plain cheerios any day.

Pete is sick....again. He was ill in mid-January with coughing and sneezing and fevers, and now he's all feverish again and got up last night and vomited in the sink in the bathroom. Why he aimed for the sink and not the toilet is beyond me. Maybe he was on the toilet at the time, I don't remember. All I do remeber is him jumping back in bed in the wee hours of the morning, sounding very excited by the fact that he had just puked up his ass and plugged up the sink which I found this morning still filled to the brim with a thick, foul liquid that I won't go into detail describing. Apparently he was awake enough after vomiting to see that he has clogged the sink and had the foresight to dump in half a bottle of liquid plumber.

Granted the liquid plumber didn't do anything but to rise the level of the noxious brew already sitting in the sink, but it did a good job covering up he smell. Pete has since gone in there and fiddled with the stopper and made it all drain. Even though he's sick as the proverbial dog, he's still OCD enough to keep the bathroom tidy.

Yesterday we went to the Woodbridge mall and Pete and I wandered through the Verizon wireless store in the parking lot and looked at cell phones. I need to get one so my parents and relatives will get off my back because they feel "out of the loop" in having no way of being able to contact me. Granted this is valid, and I would totally agree with them on this point IF I didn't know for a fact that once they have this phone number they will never call it...ever....unless someone dies. Of course, from what I understand, my grandmother and father have decided that my grandfather will be the next to do, so from now on at all family gatherings they'll stand out of ear shot of him and talk about how many years they think he has left and how life will change without him.

My family seems to do this all the time. They have a vote and decide who will be the next one to do, and then they nag the person until they have no other choice but to die or live with the insanity. And no one wants to live with the insanity. Eh, whatever. If you have a system that works, I say, go with it.

Poor grandpa

Friday night Pete and Justin and Myself drove into the city and after having a really good dinner at this nifty little Italian place that I found in Zagat's called Three Of Cups we headed on over to the Mercury Lounge on Houston to see OKgo. We got there at around 9:30 and they weren't on till 11, so we went into the back room anyway and listened to the two other bands playing before them. The band that was playing when we walked in, The King Of France was actually quit good. I was going to uy their CD on the way out of the bar later that evening, but there was such a big crowd of people that I didn't feel like pushing sideways through the current to the 'Buy Our CDs' table in the corner of the bar. I have, however, since ordered it on Amazon and it's in the process of being shippped to me. So I'll be sure to let y'all know what I think of it and thus, pretend that you care.

The second band up was called "Aiden" and proclaimed themselves to be the Worst band in NYC. And while I'm sure there could have been worse bands...they weren't really up there in on the list of groups that are totally rockin'. Oh, and their bassist looked like a homeless man that they picked up on the side of the street somewhere and handed a guitar. It was disturbing.

But then OKgo came on and everything was alright. A fine night was had by all and it pleased me that tickets to this totally keen concert had cost me only $12.

this Tuesday is the SWiSH benefit at the Therapy Lounge. I'm all sorts of excited, and there's an open bar which makes things all the better. I'll be sure to take my camera with me to document all the goings on.

Oh, and Pete got a hair cut and he's totally bangin' now (not that he wasn't before, but he had a white man afro going on). Check this shit out...granted he's goin' "No, don't take a picture of my hair" with his mouth full of icecream, but he still look cute.

[last] - [next]

[newest][archives]
[profile][notes][email]
[g-book][dland]


-Last 5 entries-
[2004-10-24]
[2004-10-11]
[2004-09-29]
[2004-09-16]
[2004-09-12]


Reading:



Get yo' ass NOTIFIED!: